Wednesday 14 September


#change11 Have registered for the change.mooc.ca. My first experience in a Massive Open Online Course.  After watchning the introductory videos, I have a better understanding of what to expect from the course. What is more interestingly (and challenging) is to decide what I expect from my participation 🙂

What do I want from the course?

  • I suspect I look forward (understatement) to experience a MOOC
  • To be exposed to some of the leading figures in the nexus between higher education and technology
  • To get a taste of the diversity of activities and participants
  • To see a range of technologies in action

Recently at the Unisa 2011 Teaching and Learning Festival, George Siemens introduced us to a model for wayfinding and sensemaking. I suspect that in writing down my thoughts and reflections I face the “occult character” of the unknown and take away some of its power over me. This then serves as an artifact providing evidence of and embodying the process of sensemaking. In writing down my thoughts, I “declare” and “announce” my current understanding.

About opendistanceteachingandlearning

Research professor in Open Distance and E-Learning (ODeL) at the University of South Africa (Unisa). Interested in teaching and learning in networked and open distance and e-learning environments. I blog in my personal capacity and the views expressed in the blog does not reflect or represent the views of my employer, the University of South Africa (Unisa).
This entry was posted in Change.mooc.ca. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

